(Photos courtesy of the Associated Press)

Detroit news anchor and entertainment reporter Lee Thomas has a rare skin disorder which causes his pigment-making cells are destroyed. Lee is an African American male with an even brown complexion. Due to a skin condition called, vitiligo, white patches have now appeared on different parts of his body. Other areas where vitiligo may strike are tissues in the mouth, nose, and the retina.

Lee currently has pale patches around his eyes and mouth, along his nose and on his ears; his arms, shoulders and chest are also speckled and blotched. Initially, he used makeup to help conceal his skin discoloration, but when it became too apparent, Lee prepared to leave his long-standing career in television.

He approached the station’s director fully prepared to walk away from television.

“I thought my career was over. She said, ‘Let’s just see what happens. As it got worse, she kept encouraging me to tell my story.

“I’m a black man turning white on television and people can see it. If you’ve watched me over the years, you’ve seen my hands completely change from brown to white.”

Read full story here.

